As the winter of my second year as Editor approaches, I find my planning horizon stretching from university quarters to publication years, two year impact factor windows, and three year Associate Editor terms.I am pleased to recognize the superb service of four of our colleagues who conclude their service as JMD Associate Editors in September and December of this year:

 Daniel C.H. Yang (Mechanisms and Robotics), Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University of California, Los Angeles

 Ahmet Kahraman (Power Transmission and Gearing), Department of Mechanical Engineering, The Ohio State University

 John C. Moosbrugger (Reliability, Stress Analysis, and Failure Prevention), Department of Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering, Clarkson University

 Ahmed A. Shabana (Design Automation), Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Illinois at Chicago.

It takes approximately six months to identify, nominate and appoint an Associate Editor for the Journal of Mechanical Design. Nominations from the technical chairs of the various committees are requested early in the process. The phone interviews of prospective nominees are arranged, and nomination packages are prepared and reviewed by the Design Engineering Executive Committee. The approved nomination package is then sent to the ASME Publications Committee, which makes the final decision for appointment. Associate Editors are entrusted with the activity at the heart of promoting quality scholarship, the peer review process. They are leaders in our community and must make decisions with its benefit and success as their goal. I am pleased to introduce our three new Associate Editors:

 Teik Lim (Power Transmission and Gearing), Department of Mechanical, Industrial and Nuclear Engineering, University of Cincinnati

 Hashem Ashrafiuon (Mechanisms and Robotics), Department of Mechanical Engineering, Villanova University.

 Kemper Lewis (Design Automation), Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University at Buffalo, The State University of New York.

Teik Lim

Teik Lim is currently a professor of mechanical engineering at the University of Cincinnati specializing in machinery noise and vibration control, machine design, and automotive NVH. Previously, he held faculty appointments at the University of Alabama (1998–2002) and the Ohio State University Center for Automotive Research (1996–1998), and had more than 6 years of industrial work experience. Dr. Lim has taught courses in mechanical design, kinematics, machinery dynamics, mechanical vibrations, signal processing and vibro-acoustics. He has supervised 8 Ph.D. dissertations and 9 M.Sc. theses, and has published nearly 100 papers. Dr. Lim received his B.Sc. from the Michigan Technological University (1985), M.Sc. from the University of Missouri-Rolla (1986), and Ph.D. from the Ohio State University (1989).

Hashem Ashrafiuon

Hashem Ashrafiuon received his B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in Mechanical Engineering from the State University of New York at Buffalo. He joined Villanova University faculty immediately after graduation in 1988. He currently holds the position of Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Villanova University. His research interests are kinematics and obstacle avoidance of robots and sliding mode control of shape memory alloy actuators and underactuated systems.

Kemper Lewis

Kemper Lewis is an Associate Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at the University at Buffalo-SUNY. His research interests include Collaborative Design, Strategic Product Design, Decision Theory, and Multiobjective Optimization. His awards include the SAE Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award, the National Science Foundation Career Award, and the State University of New York Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. His Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering is from the Georgia Institute of Technology. He also holds an M.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Georgia Tech, an M.B.A. from the University at Buffalo-SUNY, and a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering and B.A. in Mathematics from Duke University.